Meet Our New Graduate Assistant

The greatest asset of the Campus Store is its staff. Our people make the difference! Occasionally, here on the blog, we’d like to introduce you to some of them.

Becky Black is our new Graduate Assistant. We asked her a few questions to introduce her on the blog.

Can you tell us a little about yourself? Where you’re from, something interesting about yourself.

I grew up in Greenville, SC. I have a brother who will be a senior in the University and a sister who will be a junior in the cosmetology program. My mom home-schooled all three of us which allowed us each to participate in so many activities. In high school I was able to be a part of county sports teams, take several languages, learn 3 instruments and participate in the band program at the Academy. I graduated from BJU in 2009 with a B.S. in Music Education, piano principal. Following graduation, the Lord provided a Graduate Assistant position at the University which allowed me to begin a second degree in Nursing. Lord willing, I will be finished with that degree in 2014. My desire is to use both music and nursing in full-time Christian service either in foreign missions or in the US. I am thrilled to see how God has so clearly led me to this point and I can’t wait to see what He has for me to do in the future.

Do you have any hobbies or interests?

I enjoy playing the piano for church and would really like to write a few hymn arrangements sometime in the future. I also enjoy doing any activity outside, especially during these hot SC summers!

What are your favorite type of books?

I prefer reading biographies, specifically missionary biographies. The Lord has used the life stories of many missionaries to make a direct impact on my life. Some of these people include Jim Elliot, Kay Washer, Ruth Stewart Fajfr, Amy Carmichael, and Bruce Olson.

Tell us what you’ll be doing at the Campus Store.

I will be assisting the Campus Store Gifts and Music Buyer with purchases, store displays, filing, stocking shelves, customer service and anything else that needs to be done. I am already enjoying this new position and appreciate all the help I have received from my coworkers as I “learn the ropes.”

Anything you’d like to say to our customers?

I would encourage students, visitors, and those in town to come by and just browse the store, specifically the book and music section. I don’t think I realized all the resources we had in the store until I started working here, and I have lived in Greenville my entire life! I see so many books that I would like to add to my library for future ministry use. In the short time I have been here I have already seen how the folks at the Campus Store strive to provide truly valuable resources for people of all ages. Please come by and see us!

Becky~

Leave a comment if you’d like to welcome Becky to the store.

About BJU Store

We are the College Store for Bob Jones University, a conservative Christian University in Greenville, SC. We offer quality Christian materials with convenience and trust.
This entry was posted in Store News and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Meet Our New Graduate Assistant

  1. David McGuire says:

    As the Alumni Building Representative, I want to commend Becky on her good work supervising the Custodial crew last year here in the Alumni Building. We are glad to share her with the Campus Store. She will do a great job.

    David McGuire
    Academic Success Center

  2. Andrew Snavely says:

    No doubt Becky will do her part to make the campus store a welcoming, helpful resource center. She brings joy and enthusiasm to every part of her life!

    Andrew Snavely
    Dean of Men

  3. Amber says:

    We are very thankful to have Becky on board with us! She has already been an asset to the store with her kind and cheerful help. We are looking forward to her assistance in Campus Store over the next couple of years!

Leave a Reply

